Skip to content

Reimbursement of pension premiums to foreign nationals

It is permissable to reimburse foreign nationals' pension premiums upon their moving away from Iceland, provided that such reimbursement is not prohibited under international agreements to which Iceland is a part of. If a foreign national would like their pension premiums reimbursed they must not be a citizen of a country that has made an international agreement with Iceland.

Iceland has concluded international agreements with over thirty countries, referred to as contracting states. Contracting states are the United States, the European Economic Area (EEA) member countries, and Switzerland, i.e. all EFTA and EU member states.

  • EFTA states are Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein, and Switzerland.
  • EU member states are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, the Netherlands, Ireland, Italy, Croatia, Cyprus (the Greek part), Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, the Czech Republic, Hungary, and Germany.


A new international agreement between the United Kingdom and EFTA states (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland) is expected to be aggreed on by Alþingi. Any updates on the agreement and what it entails once valid will be available on Lífeyrismá